Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Stacy here!

That’s right.   Stacy, right here in Cynthia’s science fiction and fantasy book review category of Rolling Staircase.  I know, you thought (or hoped) I’d stop category hopping after I posted a recipe over in Catherine’s realm.  No such luck.  I am a huge fan of the other bloggers here and I cannot hide their influence.  They write about something and suddenly, I am on fire to check it out!

I was inspired to read some YA fantasy after reading a few of Cynthia’s book reviews.  I mean, I used to read young adult fiction when I was a young adult.  Why did I ever get away from it?  In sixth grade, my favorite book was A Wrinkle in Time.  After that, I read the whole series and every other book Madeleine L’Engle wrote.  I love the blend of science, religion, and fantasy.  It was such a dream world!

For my return to fantasy, I chose Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.  I’ve followed Laini’s blog for several years.  I was turned onto it when she was writing about some crafty thing… and then I stayed because I was interested in her journey as a writer.  I love her spirit and sense of adventure.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

I purchased the audiobook version of the book.  I like to be read to.  I’m not ashamed.  It’s glorious having someone read me a story.  Kristine Hvam does and incredible reading.  She breathes such life into the characters.

The story is about a college student named Karou in Prague.  Well, that’s just part of who she is.  She was raised by these other-worldly monsters who are each comprised of different animal parts.  Her world is magic and mystery.  And then she is attacked by an angel.  A lovely, beautiful angel to whom she senses a strange connection.

Karou’s world is captivating.  There are multiple mysteries to solve… about who she really is, this other world that she has never seen, and this angel and his mission.  I found myself in love with this imagined place even though there was a tremendous amount of violence.  But yet, violence brings pain, and it’s so often through pain that character is developed, which is exactly what happens in this story.

Alright, look.  I’ll admit.  I downloaded the second book, Days of Blood and Starlight the instant I finished Daughter of Smoke and Bone.  And I loved it just as much.  Annnnnd now I am checking in on Laini’s web site every so often to see if she has finished the third book in the series yet.  I can’t wait to get back into Karou’s life!

About brungrrl

First and foremost, I love God and my family. I'm married to John and mom to JT. Professionally, I test software. In my spare time I'm a photographer, yogi, runner, scrapbooker, crafter, and book lover.
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, Fantasy, Young Adult Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

