An adventure in healthier food

Stacy here!

Weekly Fresh Market BagFor several years now, I’ve had the opportunity to subscribe to a grocery delivery service that delivers right to my workplace.  It’s not just any groceries though… it’s a bag of local, in-season, organic, and pesticide-free vegetables, grains, and other goodies.  The Weekly Fresh Market Bag is curated by The Greener Grocer.  They offer a summer and a winter service.

I resisted the bag for a long time.  I’m not much of a chef.  (It’s an oddity that I am posting in our recipes section… believe me!)  But as a busy working mom, the bag appealed to me.  1) I wouldn’t have to shop for as many groceries.  I don’t like grocery shopping.  2)  I want my family to eat more organic and natural foods.  This is an easy way to accomplish that.  3)  It would be a bit of an adventure to figure out meals from the ingredients of the bag each week.

As it turns out, I LOVE the bag.  I’ve been introduced to so many great vegetables that I didn’t eat much before:  kale, parsnips, fennel and every variety of apples and oranges that Ohio and Florida have to offer!  I have been forced to learn new cooking skills in order to use up each week’s vegetables.  Catherine’s Sauté Sans Oil was an eye-opener for me and it’s become my usual practice now.  I freeze unused vegetables for making vegetable stock.  And I soak dried beans rather than pouring the less appetizing version from a can.

There are still challenges – the grains and different flours baffle me.  My boys despise the hearty pancake mix.  I think it’s a great alternative, but they just won’t eat it at all.  And in a busy week, sometimes I still opt for eating out rather than whipping up a fresh meal.

So today… a Sunday lunch/dinner that came together very quickly from contents of the market bag.  A kielbasa potato bowl.  Weird thing about me… I love food in a bowl.  If I could eat every meal from a bowl, I’d be thrilled.  Cereal for breakfast, salad for lunch, rice and veggies for dinner.  Single bowl eating is the way to go.

Kielbasa Potato Bowl

Here is the recipe for the Kielbasa Potato Bowl:

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg Kielbasa
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • about 1/3 a fennel bulb
  • 1 bag organic fingerling potatoes
  • 2 1/2 carrots
  • caraway seeds
  • salt & pepper

Slice the kielbasa and place in pan over medium heat.  You can probably get this going while you cut up the veggies.  I like the meat to get a good head start.  Add the garlic and fennel first.  Then add the carrots and potatoes.  Season with caraway seeds, salt, and pepper to your liking.  Let it cook until the meat is thoroughly heated and the potatoes and carrots are tender.  Stir a few times and cover to keep the heat in the pan.  (The meat had enough oil to it that I did not need any cooking oil, but different meats may call for a little oil or water.)

These fingerling potatoes are the things dreams are made of.  I have never tasted a potato that had a more delicious flavor all of its own accord.  They taste absolutely buttery without any butter at all.  And what is wrong with standard carrots?  The carrots that we get in the market bag are an experience.  My husband and I tasted the carrots in this dish and marveled at the wonderful taste of carrots.

When’s the last time you ate a carrot, delighted in it, and then had a discussion with your spouse about it?!  Do you subscribe to a CSA (community supported agriculture) or other local food service?  Would you consider trying something like The Greener Grocer?

About brungrrl

First and foremost, I love God and my family. I'm married to John and mom to JT. Professionally, I test software. In my spare time I'm a photographer, yogi, runner, scrapbooker, crafter, and book lover.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An adventure in healthier food

  1. Pingback: Daughter of Smoke and Bone | Rolling Staircase

Leave a Reply

