Cardmaking

Stacy here!

At the beginning of 2012, I had the urge to make some pillow cases. So I found some instructions and got out a yard of fabric I was saving for something special.  It became something of an obsession.  I probably made 40 sets of pillow cases throughout the year last year, mostly to give away as gifts.  I memorized each measurement, fold, and cut.  I could do it without thinking.  It was therapeutic.

This year the urge is cards.  No explanation really.  I’m not even much of a card person… you should see the meltdowns I have over the price of cards at the store!  I think I like that it’s a quick win in the craft department.  It’s easily repeatable – a little right brain and a lot of not thinking.  Finishing off my craft space with this inspiring wood-block stamp storage MAY be some of the influence though…

organized = creative?

Aren’t they pretty?!  But what to do with these stamps?  Reminded by some cards I made with my sister-in-law, I borrowed her Cuttlebug.   The textured designs are a great compliment to stamping, heat embossing, and patterned paper.  I got busy embossing cardstock for a few different designs.  I worked my way through the color spectrum making a thank you, a birthday, a hello, two valentine cards.

cards

The thing about cardmaking is that once you come up with the design, gather supplies, and start cranking the die machine, stamping images, cutting embellishments… you may as well make 6 or 8 as to make one.  It only takes a little more time and in the end you have a very satisfying collection.  Cards make a great gift as a set (tied up with a bow) or a single card that arrives via the postman.

rainbow shades

Will 2013 be the year of the card?   Will I ever mail one of these cards?  Is any piece of paper safe from the embossing machine?  Will I ever get out the sewing machine again?

(Thank you card design inspiration here. Birthday card inspiration here.)

About brungrrl

First and foremost, I love God and my family. I'm married to John and mom to JT. Professionally, I test software. In my spare time I'm a photographer, yogi, runner, scrapbooker, crafter, and book lover.
This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cardmaking

  1. Rebecca Pettis says:

    Very pretty!

Leave a Reply

