Elemental Mysteries by Elizabeth Hunter

Cynthia here!

Hello and happy February!  For my book recommendation this month, I decided on the Elemental Mysteries by Elizabeth Hunter.  What better way to show love than the eternal love of vampires!  I got these books for Christmas and I finished all 4 books within 2 weeks of receiving them!  I hope you enjoy this week’s recommendation of some good old vampire love!

untitled

Maybe being a librarian doesn’t seem like the most exciting job to you but to Beatrice De Novo it’s the perfect job and she wouldn’t trade it for the world.  Majoring in library science and becoming a librarian was all a part of Beatrice’s plan for a normal life after the horrible incident from her teenage years.  However, all of that changes when she meets the enigmatic Dr. Giovanni Vecchio.  When Gio investigates into Beatrice’s past, he discovers that they may be more connected than either of them realize.  Come join Gio and Beatrice in their adventure as they seek to understand the meaning of friendship, love and most importantly, family.

The Elemental Mysteries was an absolutely amazing series!  I didn’t know at the time I started the first book but this series is self-published by the author.  This series is a complete contradiction to what I often hear about authors who self-publish:  “The book can’t be good since it wasn’t good enough to be picked by a publisher”.  This series was not only well written, it had an incredible plot that showed a huge amount of organization and planning.

Ms. Hunter also introduces an amazing cast of characters that developed beautifully throughout the series.  Both Gio and Beatrice are persistent, determined and most of all stubborn.  Throughout the series, Ms. Hunter writes in a way that allows them to truly express their thoughts and feelings.  The love they have for each other develops so slowly and steadily that I couldn’t help but cheer for them!  There are many secondary characters that I love because they can lighten up some tense situations as well as bring some sense into Gio and Beatrice’s relationship when their minds are clouded by the love they have for each other.

The only complaint I have for the book is that at the end of the series some parts, at least to me, dragged.  This may be because the first couple of books were so full of action and the fates of many characters were so uncertain that every page was engaging.  However, don’t let that little complaint discourage you from reading this series because as I have already stated, I loved this series and finished it within 2 weeks of receiving it.  I hope you give this series a try

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, Paranormal, Young Adult Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

