The Tears of Elios by Crista McHugh

Cynthia here!

I’m headed to China on Saturday, the 15th.  I’m super excited to be spending some time with the family!  Although I don’t particularly enjoy the long flights to China and Taiwan, I do like the time I get to sit around and read!  I’ve filled my kindle up with books that I’m excited to check out!  I hope everyone gets to spend some time with family this Christmas break.  I also hope you get some time to curl up next to the fire and read a good book!  Today’s recommendation is The Tears of Elios by Christa McHugh.  Enjoy!

Tears of Elios

Ranealya doesn’t take pleasure in killing, but she does it out of necessity.  Being the last shape shifter in a Kingdom where all non-human kinds are being persecuted has landed a huge bounty on her head.  Ranealya has provided herself with 2 rules that she follows to stay alive: 1) Don’t let the humans know you still exist and 2) If a human finds out about you, silence them.  It’s by keeping to these two rules that she has outlived all of her kind but when the King’s assassins nearly kill her, Ranealya is saved by no other than the exact thing she was trying to avoid, a human.  Gregor is a scholar who heals Ranealya, and is excited at the prospect of finding out more about shape shifters.  But does he know he is in danger as Ranealya debates if her rule applies to a savior?

On the other side of the kingdom, Kira, a magician’s assistant has been training to use her magic in secret.  For it is forbidden for a girl to learn magic, but upon seeing her inner magical strength, Master Tyrrus  decided she must be taught to control her magic.  What Kira doesn’t know, is that Master Tyrrus is a spy for the resistance group forming outside of the kingdom’s wall, where non-humans have gathered in preparation to fight the King for their freedom.  When the King’s assassins set out to kill Master Tyrrus for his betrayal, Kira and her master must flee to the resistance camp, headed by an elf named Galean.  Galean has an instant distrust for Kira, and is determined to keep a close eye on her.  What will become of Kira under Galen’s constant close watch?

What a fun novel!  I’ll have to be honest, the first time I saw this version of the book cover I really did not like it.  Ranealya’s eyes on the book cover gave me the creeps!  I’m really glad I gave it a chance though.  I always think authors who can weave two different stories together by alternating stories between chapters are geniuses.  When books use this format, I get sucked into them and usually finish them in one sitting.  It definitely helps my urge to finish this book faster when Crista McHugh writes such a beautiful story involving four very different main characters.  Each character brings a unique perspective to the story which in turn helps bring together the entire book brilliantly.  What I like the most about this book is the pace of the relationships between the characters.  It’s another refreshing read among all the fantasy novels involving shape shifters, elves and magical creatures.  I hope you too give The Tears of Elios a chance!

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Young Adult Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

