Happy (late) Dewali

Catherine here!

Today I want to tell you about an amazing cake recipe I “pinned” a few weeks ago! I had been waiting for a good excuse to try it, and lucky for me yesterday was Dewali so I made the cake. Before I share the recipe with you, here is a bit of background on Dewali that I stole from National Geographic Kids 😀

Diwali, or Dipawali, is India’s biggest and most important holiday of the year. The festival gets its name from the row (avali) of clay lamps (or deepa) that Indians light outside their homes to symbolize the inner light that protects us from spiritual darkness. This festival is as important to Hindus as the Christmas holiday is to Christians.

Diwali, celebrated in October or November each year, originated as a harvest festival that marked the last harvest of the year before winter. India was an agricultural society where people would seek the divine blessing of Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth, as they closed their accounting books and prayed for success at the outset of a new financial year. Today, this practice extends to businesses all over the Indian subcontinent, which mark the day after Diwali as the first day of the new financial year.

Indians celebrate with family gatherings, glittering clay lamps, festive fireworks, strings of electric lights, bonfires, flowers, sharing of sweets, and worship to Lakshmi. Some believe that Lakshmi wanders the Earth looking for homes where she will be welcomed. People open their doors and windows and light lamps to invite Lakshmi in.

Over the centuries, Diwali has become a national festival that is enjoyed by most Indians regardless of faith: Hindus, Jains, Buddhists, and Sikhs.

As with every holiday, every family has their own Dewali traditions. Growing up, my parents would give me and my siblings new pajamas every year (according to my dad you are supposed to get new clothes for Dewali) and we would have a picnic in the basement with super delicious food and dessert. Now that I am on my own, I have been slacking a bit with my Dewali celebrations. My father was kind enough to remind me that is was coming up this year so I decided I HAD to celebrate somehow. I made cards for all of my co-workers and made what I am now calling “Candle Cake.” Technically, it is a pumpkin cake, but it is such a bright orange color with a shimmery glaze that it reminds me of a candle flame, hence the name. And since Dewali is the festival of lights this cake was a perfect fit for the holiday! Many of you have most likely already seen this recipe on Pinterest  but in case you need another reason to try it, I will share it with you again! Enjoy!!

2 Ingredient Pumpkin Cake with Apple Cider Glaze

(aka Candle Cake)

http://noblepig.com/2008/11/the-pilgrims-would-approve/

For the Cake:
1 Yellow Cake Mix
1 15 ounce can of pumpkin puree

For the Glaze:
1-1/2 cups powdered sugar
3 Tablespoons apple cider
3/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Empty the contents of the boxed cake mix and pumpkin puree into a large bowl. Using a hand-mixer or stand mixer beat until well incorporated. The batter will be very thick, but will come together nicely.

Pour batter into a greased 7 x 11 X 2 pan. 

Bake at 350 degrees for 28 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Do not overbake.

Let cool for 5-10 minutes in the pan, then flip onto a platter.

Make the glaze while you’re waiting.

Combine powdered sugar, apple cider and pumpkin pie spice. Glaze should be thick but pourable. Add more sugar or cider if needed. Pour over the cake while still warm. Reserve some to pour over each slice when served.

Serve warm or room temperature.

About cat101111

I am a biomedical graduate student with a passion for health, food, and demonstrating God's love to all of His creatures.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

