A Matter of Magic by Patricia C. Wrede

Cynthia here!

Whew, I am ready for a break!  I’ve been so busy with school lately that I really haven’t had a lot of time to read, which is extremely frustrating because I want to read so many books!  For some reason, all of my classes that I’m taking decided to have my presentations scheduled in October.  Seriously, I have 5 presentations this month!  Okay, maybe that doesn’t sounds like a lot but trust me, it’s a lot of work.  Good thing audio books have come along because that’s how I’ve been keeping up with my reading (or listening).  While I work on experiments in my research lab, I listen to audio books!   Through my local library, I can obtain access to OverDrive which allows me to check out audio books, and free ebooks!  If you’re around central Ohio, you should definitely check out that website!  It’s pretty awesome.  Anyway, I hope you have a great day and enjoy my review of A Matter of Magic by Patricia Wrede!

This book is a reprint of the out-of-print books Mairelon the Magician and The Magician’s Ward, together in one book.

Although snooping around in a magician’s wagon wouldn’t be Kim’s ideal job, it was hard to refuse a man who offered a huge sum of money for this particular task.  Kim is a street thief after all, and money-making opportunities don’t come too easily to someone like her.  And the job at least isn’t too difficult, since the man who sought her has only requested that she look around, and not actually steal anything.  However, when an explosion goes off in the wagon that attracts the attention of both the magician and his servant, Kim is thrust into an adventure she couldn’t have anticipated.  Set in the Regency Era of England, Kim is about to embark on a journey she will never forget.

I love this book!  And the best part, this book contains 2 original books for the price of one! Kim and Mairelon are great main characters.  They both have different personalities and different backgrounds that really bring this book to life.  Kim being the cunning street thief and Mairelon, the enigmatic magician were such a great pair!  The magic is really refreshing in this book and we learn it right along with Kim, making it easier for the rest of us non-magically inclined readers to follow.  The only complaint I have about this book is the amount of secondary characters that seem to accumulate throughout the book.  By the end, there are so many characters besides Kim and Mairelon that it could’ve been very easy to confuse some of the characters.   Good thing I loved the book so much that I finished it in one day!  It’s such a fantastic read that I’m sure you’ll have no trouble burning through this book as well!

Since reading this book, I have gone on to read Patricia Wrede’s most famous series The Enchanted Forest chronicles as well as her Frontier Magic series.  Ms. Wrede’s imagination is so full of fun and twisted stories that I can’t wait to read some of her other stories.

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in Young Adult Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Matter of Magic by Patricia C. Wrede

  1. lethia01 says:

    Great review! The cover art for this book is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

