When I do not feel like cooking…

Catherine here!

Happy Monday! Today I would like to share with you my top 5 go-to meals when I have no desire to spend any time cooking. These gems help me stay healthy when I am feeling lazy since most of them take less time and effort than driving to the nearest fast food chain.

5. Amy’s Non Dairy Vegetable Pot Pie. This pot pie tastes best if you actually bake it in the oven as the name suggests, but in a pinch it tastes great warmed in the microwave as well. I do not recommend processed frozen meals too often, but I will make an exception in this case. YUM!

4. Southwestern hummus wrap. Wraps are a fantastic option when feeling lazy. This is my standard combination of wrap fixings, but you can really add whatever you want.

Hummus + Guacamole + Salsa + Spring Mix Greens (the kind from a bagged salad if feeling super lazy) + Canned Black Beans (rinsed and drained) + Corn or Whole Wheat Tortilla = Perfection at its Laziest

This looks like another yummy wrap idea! from Happy Herbivore

3. Black Bean and Salsa Soup from Happy Herbivore. Here is a link to the recipe. I. Love. This. Soup! As the recipe’s webpage says, “Spicy, quick, delicious and very healthful… you can’t go wrong with this easy and nutritious recipe!”

from Happyherbivore.com

2. Cinnamon or Garlic Toast. On nights where dinner just seems so bland (i.e. those nights where pasta and canned tomato sauce is all I can manage) I try to make things seem more exciting by making garlic toast to accompany dinner or cinnamon toast for a relatively healthful dessert.

Ingredients Garlic Toast: multigrain baguette + olive oil + minced garlic (from a jar if you do not feel like freshly mincing it)

Ingredients Cinnamon Toast: multigrain baguette + Earth Balance Buttery Spread (avoid real butter and skip some calories/cholesterol) + Powdered Stevia (you can use sugar but Stevia is better for you) + Ground Cinnamon

To make: Set oven to broil and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Slice baguette into desired sized pieces and coat both sides with ingredients. Place in preheated oven for 1-2 minutes on each side to toast. Make sure to keep an eye on them so they do not burn.

1. Crock Pot Baked Potatoes. The first thing I skip in my meal planning when I am being lazy is a healthful vegetable side dish…that was until I learned that you can perfectly bake potatoes in your crock pot. AH! So exciting!! Before, I was always disappointed by the texture of my baked sweet potatoes. Without fail at least part of every baked sweet potato was still too hard and fibrous for me to be able to enjoy it. Now that I know how to make them in a crock pot, dinner planning is easy. A lazy but vegetable filled meal for me, using the crock pot potato method, would include: Crock Pot Sweet Potato and Brown Rice (cooked in rice cooker…again super lazy) with Black-eyed Peas (canned or microwaved from frozen). This is not a very glamorous meal, but it is nutritious and filling.

Crockpot Potatoes: Wash potatoes and let them dry. Wrap individually in aluminum foil. Throw potatoes into crock pot and cook on low for 8 hours. In a 4 quart crock pot, you can fit at least 8 russet potatoes. So easy!

I am so glad that it is possible to stay healthy even when feeling my laziest! It just takes a few minutes of planning. I hope you all have a fantastic week! Happy lazy cooking!

About cat101111

I am a biomedical graduate student with a passion for health, food, and demonstrating God's love to all of His creatures.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

