The Wizard of Time by G.L. Breedon

Cynthia here!

Today in Dublin, it is 73 and sunny.  I think this is probably my favorite time of year, where it is cool but sunny.  I can wear a loose long sleeve t-shirt and jeans and be extremely comfortable.  It’s also a great day to curl up on the couch with a cup of coffee and a great book!  My recommendation today is The Wizard of Time by G.L. Breedon.  I think tackling time travel is always incredibly hard.  This subject has been written in so many different ways that readers generally have their minds made up on what they like and what they don’t like.  I think Breedon does an amazing job translating his idea into a book that’s fun and easy to read and therefore deserves some recognition.  I hope you enjoy today’s recommendation!

Gabriel has been having very vivid dreams since he was a little kid, dreams that come true.  It doesn’t matter how he tries to change the course of the event, eventually it always comes true.  That’s why when Gabriel dreams of his own death, he doesn’t try to fight it but accepts it with bravery.  Except, he doesn’t really die.  Gabriel was plucked out of time at the moment of his death to finally find his place in the world.  Gabriel is a Time Mage, those able to control and travel through time, thus explaining his ability to see the future in his dreams.  Gabriel soon learns that the group responsible for saving him is called the Grace Mages, who are only able to control their powers by using artifacts that have positive imprints as a power source.  Grace Mages fight against Malignancy Mages who are only able to use artifacts that have negative imprints, in order to protect the Primary Continuum or the central branch of time.  As Gabriel continues with his training, he learns that he is no simple Time Mage, but actually a True Mage, one that has the ability to control all 6 powers: time, fire, wind, heart-tree, soul and earth.  Being the prophesied seventh True Mage, Gabriel learns that he not only can use positive imprints, he can also use negative imprints.  Now the power of darkness and light will be balanced on one thirteen year old boy.  Will Gabriel succumb to the sickening power of the dark or will Gabriel stay pure and true to the light?

One of the reasons why I loved this book is because of its seamless natural flow.  As a Time Mage, Gabriel travels through many different eras in different parts of the world and Breedon was able to paint pictures with words no matter where the book took us.  I never really liked history much (it just wasn’t my thing!), but reading historical fiction in a fantasy novel really makes the history come alive for me!  Breedon sold me on his attention to detail.  Whenever and wherever our characters are, he would describe the surroundings as well as clothing and appearance they would take on to fit in the time period!  A little research can go a long way.  It didn’t matter if it was 1487 CE in the Aztec city or London in 1895, everything was described in a way that allowed me to picture it like a movie!

I also loved Gabriel’s inner dialogues.  They were thoughtful, and you could really understand Gabriel’s actions.  I also liked that Gabriel can figure puzzles out by himself by thinking them through.  I know that in a lot of books I read, the answers are so obvious but the protagonists are so naive/oblivious, that by the end I’m screaming things like “HE KILLED YOUR FATHER, DUH! HOW MUCH MORE DO YOU WANT HIM TO SAY?!”  It never leaves a good impression of the book for me.  Gabriel can usually get to the conclusion before I make the connection and I think “He’s right! They did mention that before! Oh, how exciting!”

I think this was a great introduction to all the important characters that are sure to play an even bigger role in the following series.  If you like fiction novels with a bit of history, then definitely check this book out!

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

