Graffiti crafting

Stacy here!

Inspiration can come from the craziest places.  Sometimes it comes from out of the blue with no apparent source.  And sometimes, it hits you from all angles and just seems to keep coming.  The project I’m going to show you today is the product of a few sources.

Zolocolor is a book I bought for my cousin as a gift.  My two cousins are about 20 years younger than me.  I’ve always bought them books.  I’m that relative.  And I’m ok with that.  In fact, I keep with that same theme when I give to any children.  Even though my cousin is 16 now, I noticed that she still likes coloring and doodling (which I think is fantastic!)  When I came across this book, I knew it would be perfect for her.

It’s basically an open-ended coloring book with lots of room for coloring and doodling.  Great for massaging that right brain.  Here are a couple sample pages from the book:

With these images trapped in my brain, I’ve seen black and white patterns everywhere that just beg to be colored.  Imagine, shirts on my coworkers… and I’m staring away imagining how I’d doodle the pattern!  Awkard much?!  Well, to scratch the itch, I bought a couple fat quarter fabric pieces and Sharpie fabric markers:

See what I mean?  Who forgot to color these fabrics?!  I’m not the only one who felt the urge to color on these.  JT was eager to join me.  I wasn’t surprised that he wanted to color them, but I was surprised when he was still into the project an hour later.

We also made some other pictures on plain fabric.  He drew a scene of some guys fighting with light sabers.  Last week, he’d brought home a half-traced coloring page.  He had learned tracing at the sitter’s house.  So I grabbed the very same picture of Yoda that he had started tracing.  I taped my piece of fabric over it on the window and traced away:

In the midst of gathering up fabrics, I passed my stamps.  I grabbed one up to try with the fabric markers.  It worked!  I colored it pretty fast, breathed some moisture onto the stamp when I finished (to liven up the ink again) and stamped on to the fabric.  It worked!  Now, if you’re very particular about not staining your stamps, you’d best steer clear of that trick.  The marker ink didn’t come off completely when I cleaned the stamp right after use.

I thought JT would want to color the Yoda page, but he never offered to, so we’re going to go with a black & white outline Yoda when this piece makes its way onto a project.  And speaking of projects, I used the graffiti-like black and white patterned fabric to make a little zippered pouch.  I’ve been wanting to sew up a pencil case for JT for school, so I thought this would be a good fabric for it.  Too bad I could only come up with pink fabric for the lining though!  We ended up gifting it to his Nana instead.

I used this tutorial for the zippered bag.  I could use some practice making the bags, so I’ll probably make some more.  I still owe him that pencil case after all.

Glaser, Byron, & Higashi, Sandra. (2011). Zolocolor!: Somewhere Between Black and White. Little Simon.

About brungrrl

First and foremost, I love God and my family. I'm married to John and mom to JT. Professionally, I test software. In my spare time I'm a photographer, yogi, runner, scrapbooker, crafter, and book lover.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Crafts and Creativity. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Graffiti crafting

  1. xinkia says:

    This is so cute! I love how JT can help with these projects, which makes the present so much more meaningful!

Leave a Reply

