Stick

Stacy here!

Friday was JT’s 9th day of school.  It was the second class visit to the school library and the first time they got to select a book to check out.  Now before you shame me for not already getting him a public library card and letting him pick out his own library books, let me tell you about an early library experience.  When he was about two years old, we took him to evening story time at the local library.  The librarian was standing up, very animatedly reading the story to all the kids.  JT ran up behind her and head-butted her right in the middle of the story.  Obviously, his father and I quickly looked around to identify the parents of the kid who would do such a thing!  We didn’t care much about showing up to story time after that.

His very first choice of library book is called Stick by Steve Breen.  I had to smile when I flipped through it.  It’s a book that embraces place!  There is a map of Southern Louisiana on the inside flaps of the book.  There is a full moon over a very blue swamp on one page.  Oddly enough, there is a full moon right now… a blue moon, even.  I showed JT on my phone that Hurricane Issac is tracking through Louisiana right now and expected to bring rain to Ohio later in the weekend.  Timely choice of book, kid!

But don’t take my word for what a fun book this is.  JT has his own recommendation for you in this video.  Hopefully you can hear it… there was an Isaac-inspired storm blowing in when we recorded this.  It’s pretty windy and the windchime is carrying on.  JT also offers some alternate pronunciations of python that you will surely appreciate.  He also notes that if you only speak Arabic, you may not get a lot out of this book.  (I disagree, there are many very effective pictures that tell the story quite well.)  And if you’re a girl, you won’t like it at all.

We took some time after work/school to have a drink at Starbucks.  We read the book together and chatted about some of the details of his week.  Story time is sure different than it was three years ago.  I have to say, I prefer these less embarrassing story times.

Breen, S. (2007). Stick. New York: Dial Books For Young Readers.

About brungrrl

First and foremost, I love God and my family. I'm married to John and mom to JT. Professionally, I test software. In my spare time I'm a photographer, yogi, runner, scrapbooker, crafter, and book lover.
This entry was posted in Childrens Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stick

  1. cat101111 says:

    I love the video of JT! He is precious!!

Leave a Reply

