Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Cynthia here!

Today, Ben and I are headed down to Cincinnati with our good friend John to cheer on the Reds as they take on the St. Louis Cardinals (John is not cheering for the Reds, but I’m sure by the end of the night he’ll wish he were a Reds fan)!  In anticipation of a rip-roaring knock-out game, my recommendation today, is Paranormalcy by Kiersten White who has created a series of fun and rambunctious characters that are sure to knock your socks off!

Evie is your average teenage girl.  Okay, well, besides her job working for IPCA or International Paranormal Containment Agency to “tag” paranormals in order to protect humanity, and besides the fact she can see through paranormals’ glamour, AND besides having a mermaid as a best friend AND the fact that she has quite a mysterious past,  she’s really quite normal!  She loves watching soap operas, loves to shop, loves to gossip, loves makeup and really loves the color pink!  She even has a pink taser with rhinestones named “Tasey”.

Evie’s life was quite normal, at least by her standards.  That is until one day, returning from a routine tag to find a break in at IPCA.  Who is this cryptic paranormal trespasser that possesses an ability no one has ever heard of: an ability to take on the form of any human? Does any of this have to do with the mysterious murder of paranormals all over the world?

This was such a refreshing read! Evie was a great character, she’s funky and girly but tough and independent.  I loved it.  Kiersten White nicely combined the doom and gloom of a serious situation with a buoyant and fun main character.  It really is exactly what you would expect from the cover, a dark and mysterious place with a girl in a pink dress kicking butt!  Even though sometimes Evie comes off as too girly to the point where I think “who actually acts like that?” it does not take away from the story at all.

The romantic growth between Evie and Lend was very endearing.  I always advocate relationships that are more realistic even in crazy magical fantasy worlds.  They took the time to actually know each other and learn from each other which, to me, seems so much better to have a deep and meaningful relationship than just the “he is the hottest person I have EVER met, I LOVE HIM” type of relationships!

Although the ending of Paranormalcy was a bit strange to me, I think the overall story building was so great that I can overlook some details.  I hope you enjoy Paranormalcy, and if you wish to continue the series, Supernaturally and Endlessly are both available now!

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, Paranormal, Young Adult Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

