A Modern Witch Series by Debora Geary

Cynthia here!

I know a lot of people are going back to school this week and I pray you have a great start to your school year!  With the busy schedule in mind, today I am recommending the following series that’s quick and easy to read but definitely heart-warming!

The Modern Witch series is really a new and refreshing twist on witches.  You won’t find broomsticks and cauldrons or characters fighting for their lives against evil warlocks, but you will find a community that shares magic, wisdom, love and lots of cookies.  All four books in the series so far, A Modern Witch, A Hidden Witch, A Reckless Witch, and A Nomadic Witch, all have one general theme: trust in love, and relying on families and friends in times of need.

One of the reasons why I love this series so much is because of how beautifully Debora Geary writes.  Her loving and smooth style fits perfectly with these feel-good books!  Although there is no “evil villain” in the book, you’ll find battles of self-doubt and moments of self-discovery.  It’s not always easy being a witch.  Just like Spiderman’s uncle Ben said “With great power, comes great responsibilities.”

I can’t give the whole series a 5 star review however because I think it comes with some flaws.

1)      Since Debora Geary has created a world full of amazing characters, some really get pushed to the side and are barely mentioned in the later books.   Which is disappointing because I personally would like to know how they’ve grown since we were first introduced to them.

2)      The magic gets more and more complicated.  At first, we’re introduced to some powers that I can wrap my mind around like “fire witch” or “earth witch”.  Then come powers that are a little bit more difficult like “mind witch” and “premonition witch” where I have a hard time understanding the power and what these witches can or cannot do.  Lastly, there are powers that I do not understand at all like “astral witch”, I know right? It just sounds confusing!

However, even with these flaws, I loved the books, they were quick and easy reads that had me laughing and crying (yes, I cry when I read, back off!) with the characters.  Some of the things I enjoyed are:

1)      Most of the characters have modern jobs, like a program coder, a real estate agent, jewelry designer and professional photographer.  They are good at their jobs because they embrace their powers and harness that energy to do something special with their lives.

2)      There’s a generation of characters, so we really see magic from a wide perspective of people.  From babies to toddlers to teens to parents to grandparents.  It’s really neat to see the thought process of so many characters.

3)      The love is heart-warming, not between lovers but within families and friends.  It makes me want to call my parents and tell them how much I miss them and love them!

I hope you give this series a try, and if you’re not into feel-good books, don’t worry, there are a lot of gory- and battle-filled books that I will read and recommend!

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Modern Witch Series by Debora Geary

  1. cat101111 says:

    Oooh I like the sound of these! I will have to check them out soon 😀

Leave a Reply

