Memories and Blueberry Scones

Catherine here!

Today I am going to tell you about one of my favorite people in the entire world. My grandmother, Ginger Mallette (or Memama, as we grandkids call her), is one of the sweetest, most hilarious, and inspiring women I have ever had the wonderful opportunity to know. Not only did she raise four adopted children with more love than most mothers, but she went back to school to become a nurse when she was 50 years-old! She is quite an amazing lady!! She also has a fantatsic sense of humor. Though I could probably write an entire novel on the subject I will make it short and just share one of the most recent funny encounters I had with Memama.

Back in April, my parents, siblings, myself, and my grandparents met up in Minneapolis for Easter. This was a big deal for us, because normally we are all spread around the world are not all together very often. My grandparents live in North Carolina, I live in Ohio, one sister lives in Minnesota, and my parents and other siblings live in Germany. So, as you can see, this trip was a very special treat! Being in Minneapolis, we of course went to Mall of America. My grandparents are not in the best physical shape any more so we pushed them about the mall in wheelchairs to give their legs a rest…which was very entertaining!! Every store we went to, one of them would point to the other and say, “Hey! I want that one! He/She’s cute!!” Oh it was a blast! Out of all the stores in the mall, Memama wanted to go to Belk because she wanted some socks. As we were searching the store for socks, we passed through the lingerie section. As a joke I pointed to a hot pink and black corset top with a fishnet pattern on the front and asked, “What about this one, Memama? I think Granddaddy would like this!” She did not even bat an eye as she responded, “Oooooh, I like that one, it has cobwebs on it and everything!!” Leave it to Memama to call sexy fishnet print “cobwebs.” Luckily I snapped a picture of this moment so that you can see what I am talking about instead of relying on my story telling skills. Oh Memama…

Cobwebs? Yep, kinda does look like cobwebs!

This past Saturday, this silly woman had a stroke. She is doing well and will be at a rehab center in Tarboro, NC for the next two-three weeks for physical therapy. She is speaking and eating normally and her mind seems completely unharmed. The stroke has however made walking near to impossible, which is why she will be undergoing intense three-hour physical therapy sessions for the next few weeks. I wanted to share my love for this amazing lady and ask you to keep her in your prayers; I am sure she would appreciate prayers for a positive outlook.

I also wanted to take a moment and express my gratitude for God’s mercy in such a time as this. Strokes do not often leave a person in as good condition as Memama is now, with doctors expecting a full recovery. Our family feels so grateful at how lucky we are. I know other families are going through many difficult times this very instant so, as always, I am sending my prayers your way. I always say a blanket prayer for everyone suffering in the world, the same way I have since I was little, but sometimes that just does not feel like enough. Good thing God’s love and strength reaches further than we can comprehend!!

My sister and I were reminiscing this week about our favorite memories from our trips to our grandparent’s house. One of them included picking berries from the blueberry bushes next to their house so we decided immediately that we needed to make something with blueberries in it to celebrate Memama’s stroke survival! Does that sound weird? Yes, it definitely does, but it makes the situation seem much happier so we’ll go with it! A co-worker of mine had just given me a recipe for scones so we decided to make blueberry scones. What a brilliant decision! These scones are so delicious!! We have made them twice and both times could not stop eating three of them each before they had even cooled completely. These scones are super soft and not too sweet. Consquently, when my sister took her first bite, she initially thought they did not taste like much…but then she finished eating the first one…and then did not stop until two more were gone. Now she is obsessed with them. The recipe does call for 1/3 cup of a buttery spread, which makes them a bit less healthy than recipes I would normally post, BUT as the mantra goes, life is just too short to worry about that all the time. PLUS, they are homemade without preservatives or nasty stuff you would find in any store bought desserts. So go wild and enjoy! Try the recipe with any fruit you want (or chocolate, yum!). Thank you for letting me share my Memama memories with you!

The Best Blueberry Scones Ever

Ingredients

1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour (You can use cake flour if you do not have this…BUT I will say that this pastry flour is amazing and makes all desserts healthier. I bought mine on Amazon since I could never find it in the grocery store.)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup trans fat-free buttery spread (I used Earth Balance)
1 cup blueberries (if using frozen, thaw them first)
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons strawberry soy yogurt
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Soy yogurt works best to give the scones their fluffy texture!

Directions

1. Preheat your oven to 400° F.
2. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (I highly recommend doing this instead of spraying/greasing your baking sheets. It will allow you to cut out a ton of fat/calories).
3. Mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl.
4. Cut in buttery spread until crumbly.
5. Add fruit. Mix gently.
6. Mix yogurt and maple syrup together in a small bowl.
7. Add yogurt mixture to flour mixture, mixing until just blended.
8. Drop dough by spoonfuls on parchment paper-lined baking sheet.
9. Bake at 400
° F for 10 to 12 minutes.

SCONES!

Attempting to take an artsy picture of scones…because they are that special, they deserve a photoshoot!

Helpful Hint: After 10 minutes of baking, check the bottom of a scone or two and see if it is brown on the bottom. Chances are the tops will not look done once baking has finished, but you will know they are ready when the bottoms are golden toasty brown.

All done! Time to eat!!

About cat101111

I am a biomedical graduate student with a passion for health, food, and demonstrating God's love to all of His creatures.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memories and Blueberry Scones

  1. brungrrl says:

    Memama in my prayers, Catherine!

  2. xinkia says:

    Ben laughed so hard yesterday when he read that Memama called them cobwebs! I think he was almost in tears! That you for sharing your recipe and your great memories!

Leave a Reply

