Fortunately

Our copy of the book Fortunately came from a church rummage sale.  It cost about a quarter.  I think JT was just a baby.  But I knew that this was a story that we’d need on our bookshelf.

In the story, Ned is invited to a birthday party.  Throughout the story, he is presented with opportunities and challenges along his way to the party.  Ned makes it to the party, but he escapes all kinds of injury and harm along the way: sharks, tigers, and pointy pitchforks! Never has a story embodied Jeremiah 29:11 so much as this one:

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I like the poetic quality of the writing and that the good things are in color and the bad things are in grayscale.

JT likes to tell his own stories in the fashion of fortunately/unfortunately.  Such as…

Fortunately, Mom took me to Dairy Queen.  Unfortunately, she forgot her wallet.

I can’t really think of any other ways the book has influenced him…

Charlip, R., & Parents’ Magazine Press. (1964). Fortunately. New York: Parents’ Magazine Press.

About brungrrl

First and foremost, I love God and my family. I'm married to John and mom to JT. Professionally, I test software. In my spare time I'm a photographer, yogi, runner, scrapbooker, crafter, and book lover.
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, Childrens Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

