She Who is Hidden by Suza Kates

Cynthia here~

Interesting news from my real life that I thought you would all enjoy!  Last week, Ben and I went on vacation to Seattle to visit Ben’s younger brother, Eric, who is teaching middle school through Teach for America.  When we got back, we noticed that someone has trimmed all our wilting hydrangea heads!  We had asked Catherine to water our flowers and I inquired if she happened to trim my flowers as well. She informed me that she had not trimmed them but noticed they were trimmed the day after we left.  So we came to the conclusion that someone (most likely one of my wacky neighbors) had trimmed our bush, possibly in the middle of night!  How weird?!  I promise I was going to trim them once the whole blooming season had ended!

Anyway, here is today’s recommendation: She Who is Hidden by Suza Kates

Archaeologist Erica Conner has accepted the expedition of a lifetime to find the lost Queen Hatshepsut, the only female Pharaoh of Egypt.  Queen Hatshepsut’s name was almost erased from history but was saved by her lover, Senmut.  “She is hidden in the words of her lover” is one of the many clues left by Senmut as to the resting place of his beloved Queen.  Erica is accompanied by an FBI agent, Matt Pierce because she is not the only one on this quest.  A secret religious cult known as Kherup Amun is determined to find Queen Hatshepsut first and they will spare nothing that gets in their way.  This journey will push Erica and Matt to their limits, not only to figure out what their future holds together but what secrets are lurking in their past.

I really did enjoy this book more than I thought I would.  I’m not a huge history buff but strong female roles always have a place in my heart so I decided to give it a shot!  I am impressed with Suza Kates’ dedication and the research she must have done to write this book.  She even states that because Queen Hatshepsut was found in 2007, she had to change parts of the book to accommodate this event.

I liked Erica from the beginning.  She is witting and smart, girly when the occasion calls for it and strong when she needs to be!  My initial impression of Matt wasn’t that great, he seemed like a smug frat boy with a badge.  However, as the chapters rolled on, I found myself liking his dark humor more and more.

I wished there was more detail to the other characters in the book however.  Several characters appear throughout the novel that have pretty major roles but I felt they were a bit bland.   I also wasn’t a major fan of the way the feelings between Erica and Matt were constantly being described.  I felt like every few pages, there were paragraphs describing how one of them felt about the other.  Although I do agree with the fact that when you like someone, it’s hard not to constantly think about them, it was redundant to read.

Overall, I enjoyed the journey and I would recommend it to anyone who likes a good mystery with a bit of romance.  It is history rich however, and I would not recommend it to anyone who doesn’t enjoy history.

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, General Fiction Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

