Summertime Succotash

Catherine here!

This summer I have had the wonderful opportunity to spend some quality time with one of my sisters (I have four, all younger). My sister, Priya, has been living with me and interning in our lab since July 16th and will leave September 1st (sad…please stay?). My sister is amazingly beautiful, smart, and talented. Here is a photo of us last summer before her high school graduation.

Isn’t she beautiful?! I love her!

One of my favorite things about having Priya around is her incredible taste in music. I do not know how she even finds some of the bands she shows me. I love making dinner in the evenings while she learns to play a new song on guitar or while we sing along to one of her favorites to play. Also, the drive to work has been amazing lately. Every morning I ask her, “Will you put on the happy song?” What is this happy song and why is it so amazing? It is called “Bloom” by a band called the Paper Kites. Here is a link to the music video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8inJtTG_DuU

This is my favorite song right now. It makes me feel that summer happiness so strongly. I cannot get enough of it! Every time I hear it I immediately wish I was sitting on a pier somewhere overlooking a river and eating a peach. I do not know what it will make you think of, but I am sure it will be great. Take a break from your day today and give it a listen; you will not be disappointed.

In honor of this amazing summer song, this week’s recipe is a splendid summer recipe that I stumbled upon recently. It is super easy to make, refreshing, and delicious. It can be served warm or chilled, which is perfect for summer picnics and barbecues when the weather is super hot. Pair it with some fresh seasonal fruit and this dish is magical. I hope you all have a lovely week and thanks for letting me share my new favorite summer recipe with you! Let me know if you try it!!

Summertime Succotash from the Kind Diet

Ingredients

1 tablespoon butter (I cut this out and just used 1 tbsp oil total)
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 cup diced red onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (10 ounce) package frozen baby lima beans, thawed
1 cup fresh or frozen corn
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley (I did not have either of the herbs on hand when I made this, I encourage you to make sure you do when you make this dish)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar (I used white balsamic vinegar)

Directions

Heat butter and oil in a large skillet over medium heat.
Add the onion and sauté until the onions begin to brown (5-7 minutes).
Add the garlic and cook 1 minute longer.
Stir in the lima beans and sauté another 5 minutes.
Add the corn and tomatoes, sauté 1 minute longer until heated through (Do not keep it on heat too long after you add the tomatoes or they get too squishy).
Remove from heat and add parsley, basil, and vinegar.
Serve warm or chilled.

We combined this recipe with organic strawberries and garlic-lime rice. All ready for lunch!!

Priya approves of this lunch!

 Helpful Hint: Make sure your baby lima beans are completely thawed! I would even recommend cooking them ahead of time using whichever method you prefer (boiling for ~20 minutes, for example). I did not do this once and it took much longer than 5 minutes for them to become the correct texture.

About cat101111

I am a biomedical graduate student with a passion for health, food, and demonstrating God's love to all of His creatures.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

