An Intro to Recipes

“And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which is upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat.”

Genesis 1:29 KJV

Catherine here! The above passage is one of my favorite Bible verses. I am reminded of it every time I bite into a fresh ruby red strawberry or taste the richness of a just-out-of-the-oven sweet potato. How blessed we are to live in a world created not simply to sustain us, but to enable us to thrive. The earth contains every nutrient we need to nourish our bodily temples. I am constantly left in awe when I take even a second to think about the complexity and love of it all.

If you have not guessed it already, I am obsessed with food. In fact, I feel closest to God in the kitchen. I know that sounds silly, but nothing could be truer. I say a prayer of thanks every day for my beautiful kitchen and appliances (especially my bread machine) that I can use to make delicious, healthy creations. Crazy? Maybe. Biblical? Definitely. Peruse your copy of the Great Book anytime and you will find an abundance of references to nutrition, healthy eating, and even food preparation (Check out Daniel 1: 8-20, for example!). We need both spiritual AND physical nourishment to truly experience God’s gift of life. And oh what a yummy gift it is! Second to my love for food is my love for not spending money. Seriously, I cringe every time I have to spend money on new things: clothes, furniture, and especially toilet paper. The one thing I will spend money on is food, though I refuse to spend much on that either. Combine my two loves together and you get a dedicated thrifty home chef.

So that is why I am here: to share my love of good food with you. We all have our road blocks that prevent us from making incredible and elaborate meals every day: jobs, children, budgets, etc. It is my hope that the recipes I share will give you simple ways to enjoy naturally healthy and tasty foods without any stress. It saddens me so much that cooking healthy meals has become something many look at as a chore or a responsibility. It should be a celebration! The recipes I will be posting all use basic natural ingredients with minimal processing that require minimal work. I hope you enjoy the recipes as much as I do, and I thank you so much for letting me share them with you!

To kick things off I am sharing with you a sweet treat by Lindsay S. Nixon, author of several cookbooks.

Instant Cookie Dough

Ingredients

1 cup rolled oats

2 spoonfuls smooth peanut butter or almond butter (I used Natural Jif because I had some at home, but you can make it healthier by using a less processed kind)

2-3 Tbsp pure maple syrup

2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa

Directions

Mix together.

Eat with a spoon and become giddy with deliciousness overload! OR you can shape the dough into cookies and let them sit on a plate for a bit until they become the texture of a baked cookie.

I have brought these to work multiple times and everyone I work with has subsequently hounded me for the recipe, made the cookies themselves, and spread the word to their friends and family.

Helpful hint: do not be too strict with the measurements; they are more like guidelines in this case. Just add all the ingredients in the proportions that taste best to you!!

About cat101111

I am a biomedical graduate student with a passion for health, food, and demonstrating God's love to all of His creatures.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Intro to Recipes

  1. Pingback: An Ode to the Sweet Potato | Rolling Staircase

  2. Pingback: Berry baskets | Rolling Staircase

Leave a Reply

