Angelfall by Susan Ee

Cynthia here!

I was at once hooked by the beauty of the book cover! I finished this book in no more than a day and then I read it again just in case I missed anything in my eagerness to finish the first time!

The book begins in a post-apocalyptic world where the wrath of angels has killed millions of humans.  The humans have no idea why this has happened and interestingly enough, the angels themselves do not know either.  They’re just following “orders from above”.  In the beginning, we meet a human girl, Penyrn, whose main objective in life is to keep her family safe.  This is made all the more difficult with a schizophrenic mom and handicapped sister, Paige, who is kidnapped by an angel.  Penyrn will stop at nothing to get her back.  On her journey to find Paige, Penyrn is accompanied by an angel named Raffe, who is trying to find a way to surgically reattach his wings that had been savagely cut off by other angels.

Honestly, what’s so amazing about this book is really the character development.  There is so much history that’s laid out about each individual character that I felt like I knew them personally.  Some of the history is marred with sadness, pain and frustration that I can feel as a reader.  It’s really a lot easier to understand a character’s actions towards someone else when you can empathize with their struggles.  Penyrn is an amazing character who’s incredibly scared in this strange new world but she’s tough and she’s determined! It’s not hard to imagine her character since we would all do crazy things for our family.  Raffe is mysterious and distant at first but throughout the book you begin to understand his story and his history with humans.  The relationship between Penyrn and Raffe is a hoot.  It’s slow but realistic unlike so many of the “love at first sight” or “love at first bite” themes that have recently been popping up everywhere.  The best part about the book for me was Penyrn’s mother, whose schizophrenia, although unsettling at times, has been exceptionally helpful in keeping her alive in this post-apocalyptic world.  Her actions are sometimes so crazy (in a non-dangerous situation) that I can’t help but laugh out loud and applaud Susan Ee for such a wild imagination.

I give this book a 5 star review out of 5! I love it enough to read it again and again.  I recommend this book whole heartedly but I would be cautious on the age group I give it to.  It’s not bloody or gruesome for most of the book, but at times I still cringed at the description of some scenes.   I would recommend this to a bit of an older audience, like late teens.  If you’re into the whole paranormal genre and you’re looking for something new and different then look no further! This is truly an amazing book that’s well written with great characters and plot.  I enjoyed this book tremendously and I can’t wait until the next book comes out!

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in All Book Recommendations, Fantasy, Young Adult Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

