Untraceable by S.R. Johannes

Cynthia here!

I’ve been working so hard recently that I haven’t really had a chance to read to my heart’s content.  But i’m glad to tell you, I’ve put an end to that nonsense!  Today my book recommendation is Untraceable by SR Johannes and I hope you check it out!

Grace knows she’s obsessed with trying to track down her dad and figure out what happened to him ever since he went missing all those months ago.  Everyone else has given up, even her mom.  But not Grace, she knows it in her heart that her dad is not dead and she can’t give up hope thinking he is alive, even if it costs her friendships and relationships.  When Grace finally gets a glimpse of something that might be a clue into her dad’s whereabouts, she plunges headlong into the investigation that nearly gets her killed.  Luckily for her, a mysterious boy named Mo was there in the nick of time to save her.

As Grace starts to confide in Mo, the only person in her life right now who doesn’t think she’s crazy for obsessing over her dad’s disappearance, she begins to trust and fall for Mo.  But what about her ex-boyfriend, Wyn? The one she wanted to get away from only because he didn’t understand her obsession, but still loved? The paths that she chooses, in the search for her dad and the choice between Mo and Wyn could be more dangerous than she ever imagined, perhaps even costing her her life!

What an absolutely fun novel! First of all I just want to say that this book cover is absolutely gorgeous! Her face is stunning and it’s framed so nicely by the leaves.  I think one of the reasons why I like this book so much is because Grace is just a normal girl.  I read a lot of YA fantasy/paranormal books where characters have magical talents and/or hidden abilities that it’s nice to have a girl who is good and proficient at something (tracking for Grace) because she was taught a skill and had practiced it over the years.

For me, Grace was an interesting and thought provoking character.  She had just lost her father, without a clue what actually happened to him, so it’s hard for me to empathize with that loss.  She pushes people away who only want the best for her and she makes decisions that I cringe at but I keep wondering if I would do the same if I were in her position.  That’s why I enjoyed reading about her, I wanted to know how she would think and react to certain situations.  Mo and Wyn were both great guys, but love triangles always suck for someone.

Overall it was a great well-written book.  The last few chapters of the book were so captivating I had to use all my speed reading abilities to finish it as fast as I could! I ended up reading the whole book all in one sitting! (I had to give up a few hours of sleep but I think it was worth it!)  I hope you can take some time out of your busy schedule this week and check out this amazing book!  Happy reading!

This book was given to me as a free copy from the publisher, All Night Reads, through NetGalley.

About xinkia

I am a currently a PhD student at The Ohio State University studying tuberculosis. I am married to a wonderful man who knows exactly how to make me happy. I absolutely love reading and I wish I had more time to read, but I also love my research. I hope you find my book recommendations helpful and if you ever want me to review your book, just let me know!
This entry was posted in Young Adult Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Untraceable by S.R. Johannes

  1. brungrrl says:

    “love triangles always suck for someone” Ha! Truth!

Leave a Reply

